Shortbread Stories’s Blog › Shortbreaders Share: The Lemon Tree Writers | Shortbread

Posted: August 29, 2012 in blog updates, News
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was recently approached by Fiona Smith, the Editor of the Shortbread Short Stories website to write a blog about my writing experiences and what I’ve gained being a member of Aberdeen’s Lemon Tree writers. You can read what I had to say here: Shortbread Stories’s Blog › Shortbreaders Share: The Lemon Tree Writers | Shortbread

Like a lot of aspiring writers I spent a long time thrashing about on my own wondering if my writing was worth shwoing to anyone, not knowing how to improve it or stand a chance of getting published. I had a suspiscion thatany writer’s group would be full of snarky, superior types who would hurl barbed critiques at my work from their lofty perches, dismissing my amatuer efforts with a sneer. Instead I found a community of fellow writers keen to hear what I had to say, willing to offer constructive and useul criticism and full of encouragementand advice on how to take my writing to the next level.

If you’re out there somewhere in the world struggling to do anything with your writing all by yourself I reccomend finding a writing group somewhere near you and going along to take in a meeting – I can’t promise that they’ll all be as good as the Lemon Tree Writers but what have you got to lose?

Leave a Reply

