10k training week 7

Posted: August 21, 2012 in blog updates, News
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

First proper day back at work today. I’m now in my penultimate week of training for the Great Scottish Run and making good progress. My knee feels a lot better after taking a week out of my schedule to comepletely rest it. I was on holiday in Dunoon the following week and chose to do only 2-2.5 mile runs to ease myself back in and not undo all the rest. I also got to see some spectacular scenery while hauling my sorry butt through the countryside…

This the view I was treated to during my morning runs while staying near Dunoon

I completed a four mile run on Saturday morning in around 42 minutes. I did another today in a personal best of 38.32 – this was despite managing to sting my leg with a nettle and a Kamikaze midge deciding to dive into my eye and get stuck! The terrain around Blackburn is fairly hilly but I’m hoping this is going to work in my favour as the course for the Great Scottish Run looks to be pretty level.

My race pack arrived on Saturday so I now have my snazzy blue technical t-shirt which I will be wearing on race day and my all important race number. If I stick to my plan I should be peaking just in time for the race!

Comments
  1. hemingwayrun says:

    Good luck with the run! Got great Yorkshire, then Great North coming up. Quite enjoying the training!

    • Likewise! As a non-runner before this I’ve been surprised by how much I’ve enjoyed the training to the point where I’m actually considering keeping it up after the race. All the best with the Great North Run.

Leave a Reply

