Somebody’s Watching…

Posted: November 2, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I read this poem at the launch of “Himself by the Seaside”

SOMEBODY’S WATCHING

Somebody’s watching:

call it sixth sense or ESP,

but I can feel their hidden eyes

bearing down on me.

Listening devices planted in the walls,

maybe cameras too.

Spying on me constantly

there’s nothing I can do.

There’s a faint click in my ear

every time I use the phone.

Somewhere a tape’s running:

they never leave me alone.

I’m not being paranoid.

Oh no, not me.

I know that somebody’s watching:

and pretty soon you’ll see.

They follow me all the time,

nowhere I go feels safe.

Sitting behind me on buses –

I know I’ve seen that face.

You might think you’re ok,

but soon that’s going to change.

I know they’re only marking time

until the details can be arranged.

 

Listen, I’m not paranoid.

Oh no, I tell you, you’ll see.

I know that they’ll be coming for you

once they’re done with me.

I’m telling you the truth

why don’t you believe what I say

The net is getting tighter

They’ll get you soon, someday

I know that I’m not paranoid.

I’m telling you as your friend.

They’ve already done their homework

and they’ll get you in the end.

 

Leave a Reply

